CLASS

Directory

Department Chair

Name Contact Information Highest Degree Teaching & Research Interests
Dan Bauer

1118B Newton Building


912-478-0739


dbauer@georgiasouthern.edu

Ph.D., New Mexico State University, 1997 Rhetoric & Composition, Composition Pedagogy, Literacy, The Harlem Renaissance, Middle Grades Education, Young Adult Literature, The National Writing Project

 

Administrative Assistants

Name Contact Information  Title
Patricia Byrd

1118A Newton Building


912-478-0739


pbyrd@georgiasouthern.edu

Senior Administrative Assistant
Bettye Stewart

1118 Newton Building


912-478-0141


bstewart@georgiasouthern.edu

Administrative Assistant

 

Professors

 Name Contact Information Highest Degree Teaching & Research Interests
Lori Amy

Forest Drive 1201


912-478-7342


lamy@georgiasouthern.edu

Ph.D., University of Florida, 1996 Women’s Studies
Dan Bauer

1118B Newton Building


912-478-0739


dbauer@georgiasouthern.edu

Ph.D., New Mexico State University, 1997 Rhetoric & Composition, Composition Pedagogy, Literacy, The Harlem Renaissance, Middle Grades Education, Young Adult Literature, The National Writing Project
Michael Pemberton

1120C Newton Building


912-478-1383


michaelp@georgiasouthern.edu

Ph.D., University of California, San Diego, 1989 Writing Centers, Writing Across the Curriculum, Computers & Writing, Writing Program Administration, Writing Theory, Comics Studies
Janice R. Walker

2222A Newton Building


912-478-1327


jwalker@georgiasouthern.edu

Ph.D., University of South Florida, 1999 Computers & Writing, Rhetoric & Composition, Professional & Technical Writing, Writing for Publication, Intellectual Property, Information Literacy, Human Subjects Research, Early American Literature

 

Associate Professors

 Name Contact Information Highest Degree Teaching & Research Interests
Kathy Albertson

1102E Newton Building


912-478-0884


katalb@georgiasouthern.edu

Ph.D., Indiana University of Pennsylvania, 2006 National Writing Project, Literacy Studies, Instructional Development, Professional Development, First-Year Writing
Lisa Costello

2221D Newton Building


912-478-5561


lacostello@georgiasouthern.edu

Ph.D., Louisiana State University & A&M College, 2007 Rhetoric & Composition, Holocaust Memorialization, Gender Studies, Autobiography, Culture & Memory Studies
Timothy Giles

1122G Newton Building


912-478-0229


tgiles@georgiasouthern.edu

Ph.D., University of Minnesota, 2004 Technical Communication, Metaphor Studies, Classical Rhetoric, Postmodern Rhetoric, Rhetoric of Science & Technology, Technical Communication Pedagogy
Laura Valeri

1119E Newton Building


912-478-5889


lvaleri@georgiasouthern.edu

M.F.A., University of Iowa, 2002


M.F.A., Florida International University, 2000

Fiction, Screenwriting, Creative Writing, Nonfiction and Memoir, Creativity, Mythology, Comparative Religion, Teaching Online, Teaching Technology
Theresa Welford

2224C Newton Building


912-478-0156


welfordtm@georgiasouthern.edu

Ph.D., University of Essex, 2006 Composition & Rhetoric, Creative Writing, 20th Century American & British Poetry, Nonfiction, Writing for Young Readers

 

Assistant Professors

Name Contact Information Highest Degree Teaching & Research Interests
Kathleen Marie Baldwin

1119B Newton Building


912-478-1377


kbaldwin@georgiasouthern.edu

Ph.D., University of Massachusetts Amherst, 2016 Writing Assessment, Multimodality, Rhetoric & Composition, Multiliteracies, Multi/Translingualism, Digital Rhetoric
Melissa Carrion

2225B Newton Building


912-478-2369


mcarrion@georgiasouthern.edu

Ph.D., Purdue University, 2014 Rhetorical Theory, Rhetorics of Science & Medicine, Health Communication, Risk Communication, Gender and Women’s Studies, Qualitative Methods
Ellen Hendrix

1120D Newton Building


912-478-5899


ehendrix@georgiasouthern.edu

Ph.D., Indiana University of Pennsylvania, 2009 Literacy Studies, First-Year Writing, National Writing Project, Nature Writing
Jinrong Li

2218C Newton Building


912-478-5263


jli@georgiasouthern.edu

Ph.D., Iowa State University, 2012 TESOL, L2 writing instruction and assessment, corpus linguistics, discourse analysis, language testing, and research methods in applied linguistics
Mimi Li

2221C Newton Building


912-478-7749


mli@georgiasouthern.edu

Ph.D., University of South Florida, 2014 TESOL, Second Language Writing, Computer Assisted Language Learning, English for Academic/Specific Purposes, Sociolinguistics, Pragmatics
Christina Olson

2224 Newton Building


912-478-0124


colson@georgiasouthern.edu

M.F.A., Minnesota State University, 2007 Creative Writing (Poetry & Nonfiction), First-Year Writing, Multigenre Writing, National Writing Project, Online Education, Professional Writing
Joanna Schreiber

2222C Newton Building


912-478-5908


jschreiber@georgiasouthern.edu

Ph.D., Michigan Technological University, 2013 Technical and Professional Communication, Usability, Science Writing, Rhetoric, Business & Management Communication, Workplace Studies, Risk Communication, Rhetorics of Science & Technology
Jared Yates Sexton

2224B Newton Building


912-478-1326


jsexton@georgiasouthern.edu

M.F.A., Southern Illinois University, 2008 Fiction, Creative Writing, Narrative, Realism, Surrealism, Minimalism, Maximalism, Working Class Literature, Changing Masculine Roles, Screenwriting, Popular Culture, Publishing
Terry Thompson

2225C Newton Building


912-478-7079


twthom@georgiasouthern.edu

Ed.D., University of Northern Colorado, 1985 American & British Literature

 

Senior Lecturers

Name Contact Information Highest Degree Teaching & Research Interests
June Joyner

1122F Newton Building


912-478-0153


jbjoy@georgiasouthern.edu

M.A., Georgia Southern University, 2002 First-Year Writing, Critical Thinking, Teaching Writing, National Writing Project, Popular Culture, Professional Development in Higher Ed
Nan LoBue

2219C Newton Building


912-478-0641


nlobue@georgiasouthern.edu

M.A.L.S., Wesleyan University, 1984 First-Year Writing, Sociolinguistics, Composition Pedagogy, Writing Assessment, Grammar, 18th Century English Literature, History of Rhetoric

 

Lecturers

Name Contact Information Highest Degree Teaching & Research Interests
Andrew Berger

1122E Newton Building


912-478-0881


amberger@georgiasouthern.edu

M.A., Eastern Kentucky University, 2011 First-Year Writing, Rhetoric & Composition Pedagogy, Writing Center Pedagogy, Cultural & Gender Studies, Narratology, Counterculture Literature, Kentucky & Appalachian Literature, Short Story Cycles, Pop Culture
Monique Bos

1123 Newton Building


912-478-2427


mbos@georgiasouthern.edu

M.A., Pennsylvania State University, 1998 First-Year Writing, Business/ Professional Writing & Editing, Writing & Editing for Web, Contemporary Fiction, Creative Writing
Julie Douberly

1119C Newton Building


912-478-0962


jdouberly@georgiasouthern.edu

M.A., Georgia Southern University, 2003 First-Year Writing, Instructional Technology, Fandom Studies
Benjamin Drevlow

3304A Newton Building


912-478-5902


bdrevlow@georgiasouthern.edu

M.F.A., Minnesota State University, 2006 Short Stories & The Novel, First-Year Writing, Digital Literacy, Memoir/Autobiographical Fiction, Southern Gothic Literature, Grit Lit, Satire & Humor
Lauren Fortenberry

2219D Newton Building


912-478-8570


lfortenberry@georgiasouthern.edu

M.P.H., Virginia Polytechnic Institute & State University, 2012 First-Year Writing, Scholarly Writing with Public Health Emphasis, Infectious Disease Epidemiology, Vaccine Studies, Health Literacy, Scientific Writing, Service Learning
Amanda Hedrick

2221B Newton Building


912-478-0234


ahedrick@georgiasouthern.edu

M.A., University of Maine, 2009 First-Year Writing, Rhetoric & Composition, Gender & Women’s Studies, LGBTQ Studies, Social Media Composition, Professional Writing, National Writing Project
Natalie James

1122B Newton Building


912-478-4202


nataliejames@georgiasouthern.edu

M.A., University of Delaware, 2013 First-Year Writing, Rhetoric & Composition, Identity Studies, Pedagogical Methods with Digital Media, Postcolonial Literature & Theory
Drew Keane

1119D Newton Building


912-478-0153


dkeane@georgiasouthern.edu

M.A., Georgia Southern University, 2012 First Year Writing, Rhetoric & Composition, Critical Thinking, National Writing Project, English Literature, 18th Century, Biblical Literature, Religious Studies
Marti Lee

3304B Newton Building


912-478-0547


mlee@georgiasouthern.edu

M.A., Georgia Southern University, 2003 First-Year Writing, English Literature
Peggy Lindsey

2219A Newton Building


912-478-6991


plindsey@georgiasouthern.edu

Ph.D., Auburn University, 2016 First-Year Writing, Linguistics & TESOL, 19th & 20th Century Irish & British literature
Sheila Nelson

2218E Newton Building


912-478-5566


snielsen@georgiasouthern.edu

M.A., Georgia Southern University, 2015 First-Year Writing, 20th Century American Literature, Writing Project, Interdisciplinary Studies, Writing Across the Curriculum
Aron Pease

2222B Newton Building


912-478-5707


apease@georgiasouthern.edu

Ph.D., University of Florida, 2010 First-Year Writing
Krista Petrosino

2225E Newton Building


912-478-6993


kpetrosino@georgiasouthern.edu

Ph.D., Bowling Green State University, 2012 Transdisciplinary Collaboration, Collaboration-as-Performance, Intersections of Music and Writing, Composition Pedagogy, and 19th Century American Literature
Kevin Psonak

2218D Newton Building


912-478-0226


kpsonak@georgiasouthern.edu

Ph.D., University of Texas, 2012 History of the English Language, Linguistics, Medieval English Literature
Amanda Schumacher

2221A Newton Building


912-478-5750


aaschumacher@georgiasouthern.edu

M.F.A., Minnesota State University, 2011 Creative Writing (Fiction), Young Adult Literature, First-Year Writing
Christopher Smith

1119B Newton Building


912-478-6992


christophersmith@georgiasouthern.edu

M.F.A., University of Nebraska in Omaha, 2009 First-Year Writing, Creative Writing (Fiction & Nonfiction), Screenwriting, Online Education, Film Studies & Production, Animation, YA & MG Literature, Graphic Novels, Video Games in Academia
LeighAnn Williams

1124B Newton Building


912-478-1866


lawilliams@georgiasouthern.edu

M.A., Georgia Southern University, 1995 Creative Nonfiction, National Writing Project, First-Year Experience, Narratives, Multigenre/Multimodal Writing, LILAC Project (Learning Information Literacy Across the Curriculum)

 

Limited-Term Faculty

Name Contact Information Highest Degree Teaching & Research Interests
Cameron Rocker Clements

2225A Newton Building


912-478-0373


cclements@georgiasouthern.edu

M.A., Georgia Southern University, 2013 First-Year Writing, English Literature, Irish Studies, Adolescent Literature
Janet Dale

3305E Newton Building


912-478-5936


jdale@georgiasouthern.edu

M.F.A., Georgia College & State University, 2013 First-Year Writing, Composition Studies, Creative Writing, Flash Fiction, Lyrical & Narrative Nonfiction, Found Poetry, Feature/News Writing, Gender & Women’s Studies, Gothic American Lit, Pop Culture
Katherine Fallon

2218A Newton Building


912-478-2218


kfallon@georgiasouthern.edu

M.F.A., Sarah Lawrence College, 2006
First-Year Writing, Creative Writing (Poetry), Pop Culture, Mass Media, Gender Studies, Women’s Studies, LGBTQ Studies
Charles Michael Fischer

2222D Newton Building


912-478-0151


cfischer@georgiasouthern.edu

Ph.D., Western Michigan University, 2012
Rhetoric & Composition, Creative Writing, American Literature
Brandon Loper

1119D Newton Building


912-478-0149


bloper@georgiasouthern.edu

M.A., University of Tennessee, 2003 First-Year Writing, Cultural Studies, Post-War American Literature, Critical Theory
Brandi Moody

2222B Newton Building


912-478-5730


bmoody@georgiasouthern.edu

M.A., Georgia Southern University, 2015 First-Year Writing, Writing Center Pedagogy & Practice, Shakespeare & the Renaissance
Claire Nelson

1119A Newton Building


912-478-0421


cnelson@georgiasouthern.edu

M.F.A. Florida State University, 2014 First-Year Writing
Chelsea Plunkett

2219E Newton Building


912-478-0374


chenshey@georgiasouthern.edu

M.F.A., Georgia College & State University, 2014 First-Year Writing, Rhetoric & Composition, Creative Writing, Contemporary Fiction & Creative Nonfiction, Appalachian Literature
Daniel Plunkett

2225A Newton Building


912-478-1399


dplunkett@georgiasouthern.edu

M.F.A., Georgia College & State University, 2014 First-Year Writing, Composition Studies, Creative Writing, Southern Gothic Literature, Lyrical Fiction
Desireé Riley

2225D Newton Building


912-478-7548


driley@georgiasouthern.edu

M.A., Georgia Southern University, 2016 First-Year Writing, English Renaissance Literature, Women’s & Gender Studies, Critical Theory
Britta Spann

1120B Newton Building


912-478-5248


bspann@georgiasouthern.edu

Ph.D., University of Oregon, 2009 Modern & Contemporary American Literature, Poetry & Poetics, Classical Languages & Literature, Classical Traditions & Influence, Modernism, Composition Pedagogy, First-Year Writing
Jessica Spearman

2218A Newton Building


912-478-7328


jspearman@georgiasouthern.edu

M.A., Georgia Southern University, 2014 First-Year Writing, Creative Writing (Nonfiction & Poetry), Writing about Social Issues (Social Responsibility & Social Justice), Philosophical Writing (Empiricism, Existentialism, Feminist Philosophy & Transcendentalism), Writing about Self Identity

 

Part-Time Faculty

Name Contact Information Highest Degree Teaching & Research Interests
Susan Abbott

Forest Drive 1130


912-478-0154


sabbott@georgiasouthern.edu

M.Ed., Georgia Southern College, 1982 First-Year Writing, Professional & Technical Writing, Document Design
Jessica Egan

2220A Newton Building


912-478-2411


jessicaegan@georgiasouthern.edu

M.S., Florida State University, 2011
First-Year Writing, English as a Second Language (ESL), Online Education, Instructional Technology, Pop Culture
Burney Marsh

2222E Newton Building


912-478-0986


bmarsh@georgiasouthern.edu

M.F.A., Goddard College, 2012 First-Year Writing, Creative Writing, Literary Publishing, Pedagogical Psychology, What the Writing Student Gains and Loses Without the Dynamics of the Physical Classroom
Alicia Spence

Williams Center 1005


912-478-2327


ahowe@georgiasouthern.edu

M.A., Georgia Southern University, 2008 First-Year Writing, National Writing Project, Online Education

 

Graduate Teaching Assistants

Name Contact Information
Amanda Ford

1122H Newton Building


af02696@georgiasouthern.edu

Matthew Wentz

1122H Newton Building


mw03168@georgiasouthern.edu

 

Department Technology Manager

Name Contact Information Title
Matt Nichols

2215 Newton Building


912-478-5438


mnichols@georgiasouthern.edu

Technology Manager


Department of Writing & Linguistics

 

Department Academic Advisor

Name Contact Information Title
Christy Curley

3308D Newton Building


912-478-0233


ccurley@georgiasouthern.edu

Academic Advisor


Department of Writing & Linguistics

 

Emeriti Faculty

Name Highest Degree Year Joined  Year Retired Contact Information

Eleanor Agnes

Associate Professor Emerita

Ph.D., Louisiana State University and A&M College, 1991 1989

Phyllis Dallas

Associate Professor Emerita

Ph.D., Tulane University, 1991 1988 2013 psdallas@georgiasouthern.edu

Charlotte Crittenden

Assistant Professor Emerita

Ph.D., University of Georgia, 1987 1987

Nancy Dessommes

Assistant Professor Emerita

Ph.D., Indiana University of Pennsylvania, 2006 1988 2012 nandess@georgiasouthern.edu

Mary Hadley

Associate Professor Emerita

Ph.D., University of Reading, 2000 1994 2012 mhadley@georgiasouthern.edu

Richard Keithley

Assistant Professor Emeritus

M.A., University of North Carolina, 1969 1967

Mary Marwitz

Associate Professor Emerita

Ph.D., University of South Carolina, 1998 1996 2014 marwitzm@georgiasouthern.edu

Margaret McLaughlin

Associate Professor Emerita

D.A., Illinois State University, 1993 1989 2012

Laura Milner

Associate Professor Emerita

Ph.D., Indiana University of Pennsylvania, 2005 1993 2012 lmilner@georgiasouthern.edu

Eric Nelson

Professor Emeritus

M.A., The Johns Hopkins University, 1998 1989 2015 enelson@georgiasouthern.edu

Betsy Nichols

Associate Professor Emerita

Ph.A., University of Arkansas, 1972 1981

Mildred Pate

Assistant Professor Emerita

M.S.T., Georgia Southern College, 1976 1985 2010

Patricia Price

Assistant Professor Emerita

Ed.D., Georgia Southern University, 2003 1987 2011

Tomsye Purvis

Associate Professor Emerita

Ph.D., University of Tennessee, 1976 1981

Neal Saye

Associate Professor Emeritus

Ed.D., Georgia Southern University, 2002 1988 2012 nsaye@georgiasouthern.edu

 

In Memoriam

Name Highest Degree Years of Service

Thomas Klein

Professor of Linguistics

Ph.D., University of Delaware, 1996 2002-2014

 

Last updated: 3/3/2017

Department of Writing & Linguistics • P.O. Box 8026 • Statesboro, GA 30460 • (912) 478-0739