CLASS

Faculty

Sociology and Anthropology Faculty
fac_altman

Heidi Altman

Associate Professor of Anthropology
Anthropology Undergraduate Program Coordinator

Email: haltman@georgiasouthern.edu
Office: Carroll 1059A
Phone: (912) 478-5723
Curriculum Vitae

Pam Altman

Pam Altman

Online Instructor of Sociology
Email: paltman@georgiasouthern.edu

hamaral

Heather Amaral

Online Instructor of Anthropology
Email: hamaral@georgiasouthern.edu

Amber Blair

Amber Blair

Online Instructor of Sociology
Email: ablair@georgiasouthern.edu

fac_brimeyer

Ted M. Brimeyer

Associate Professor of Sociology, Graduate Program Director
Email: tbrimeyer@georgiasouthern.edu
Office: Carroll 1015
Phone: (912) 478-5763
Curriculum Vitae

Kevin Chapman

Kevin Chapman

Adjunct Archeologist
Email: james_chapman@fws.gov

fac_cohen

Adrienne Cohen

Assistant Professor of Sociology
Email: acohen@georgiasouthern.edu
Office: Carroll 1019
Phone: (912) 478-5012
Curriculum Vitae

Matthew Flynn

Matthew Flynn

Assistant Professor of International Studies and Sociology
Email: mflynn@georgiasouthern.edu
Office: Carroll 2212
Phone: (912) 478-6587
Curriculum Vitae

Shelby Freeman

Shelby Freeman

Online Instructor of Sociology
Email: sfreeman@georgiasouthern.edu

fac_hendry

Barbara Hendry

Associate Prof. of Anthropology
Email: bhendry@georgiasouthern.edu
Office: Carroll 2271C
Phone: (912) 478-5362

fac_johnson

Abby Johnson

Online Instructor of Sociology
Email: ajohnson@georgiasouthern.edu
Office: Carroll 1016

DSC_0729

Geoff Kelley

Instructor of Anthropology
Email: gkelley@georgiasouthern.edu
Office: Carroll 2269A

fac_malcolm

Nancy L. Malcom

Associate Professor of Sociology
Email: nmalcom@georgiasouthern.edu
Office: Carroll 1059
Phone: (912) 478-5168
Curriculum Vitae

fac_moore

Sue M. Moore

Professor Emeritus of Anthropology
Email: smmoore@georgiasouthern.edu
Office: Carroll 2256A
Phone: (912) 478-5568

Tricia Noone

Patricia Noone

Limited-term Instructor of Sociology
Email: tnoone@georgiasouthern.edu
Office: Carroll 1014B
Phone: (912) 478-5731

fac_palmer

Nathan Palmer

Senior Lecturer of Sociology
Email: npalmer@georgiasouthern.edu
Office: Carroll 1062
Phone: (912) 478-7897
Curriculum Vitae

More Information
Nathan Palmer received his M.A. in Sociology from the University of Nebraska-Lincoln in 2008 and is currently completing his Ph.D. His research interests focus on how individuals perceive and understand social structure, inequality in higher education, social networking within higher education, and environmental sociology. He also frequently speaks publicly about racism, social media, and teaching. Currently Nathan is the teaching and learning section editor for the ASA journal Contexts. He is also the creator/editor-in-chief of SociologySource.org and SociologyInFocus.com. In 2014 Nathan was named the Wells Warren GSU Professor of the Year and received the Randolph S. Gunter Eagles in Diversity Distinguished Faculty Award.
fac_silva

Eric Silva

Assistant Professor of Sociology
Email: eosilva@georgiasouthern.edu
Office: Carroll 2281I
Phone: (912) 478-1964
Curriculum Vitae

fac_schueths

April M. Schueths

Associate Professor of Sociology
Email:aschueths@georgiasouthern.edu
Office: Carroll 2279
Phone: (912) 478-2368
Curriculum Vitae

fac_smith

William L. Smith

Professor of Sociology
Email: wmlsmith@georgiasouthern.edu
Office: Carroll 2271B
Phone: (912) 478-0255
Curriculum Vitae

Trina Smith

Trina Smith

Assistant Professor of Sociology
Email: trinasmith@georgiasouthern.edu
Office: Carroll 2279
Phone: (912) 478-5935
Curriculum Vitae

Kara Sweeney

Kara Sweeney

Instructor of Anthropology
Email: ksweeney@georgiasouthern.edu
Office: Carroll 1050
Phone: (912) 478-5663
Curriculum Vitae

Jennifer Tookes

Jennifer Sweeney Tookes

Assistant Professor of Anthropology
Email: jtookes@georgiasouthern.edu
Office: Carroll 1018
Phone: (912) 478-6587
Curriculum Vitae

Marieke Van Willigen

Marieke Van Willigen

Professor & Department Chair
Email: mvanwilligen@georgiasouthern.edu
Office:Carroll 1003B
Phone:(912) 478-5443
Curriculum Vitae

More Information

Dr. Van Willigen earned her BA from Ithaca College in upstate New York and her MA and PhD in Sociology from The Ohio State University. She then spent 19 years as a faculty member at East Carolina University in Greenville NC. During that period she served as Undergraduate Director, Women’s Studies Director, Interim Chair, and Associate Dean. She joined the faculty at Georgia Southern University in 2015 as Professor and Chair. Her research and teaching interests lay at the intersections of gender, mental/physical health, and the sociology of adolescence. She has also spent 15 years teaching social statistics to terrified undergraduate and graduate students, and counted herself as successful when they left class most days with a smile on their faces.

Clare Walsh

Clare Walsh

Lecturer of Sociology
Email: cwalsh@georgiasouthern.edu
Office: Carroll 2269B
Phone: (912) 478-1473
Curriculum Vitae

fac_wood

M. Jared Wood

Assistant Professor of Anthropology
Email: mwood@georgiasouthern.edu
Office: Carroll 1049
Phone: (912) 478-5789
Curriculum Vitae

Inger Wood

Inger Wood

Adjunct Historical Preservation
Email: iwood@georgiasouthern.edu

fac_zhang

Pidi Zhang

Associate Professor of Sociology
Email: pzhang@georgiasouthern.edu
Office: Carroll 2252
Phone: (912) 478-0004
Curriculum Vitae

 

Last updated: 6/29/2016

Department of Sociology & Anthropology • P.O. Box 8051 Statesboro, GA 30460 • (912) 478-5443