CLASS

Current Faculty & Staff

 

Main Office Telephone: 478-5471       Location: 3307 Newton Building
Academic Advisor
Ms. Christy Curley
478-0233
3308D Newton Building
ccurley@GeorgiaSouthern.edu
MEd, Counselor Education
Georgia Southern University
Student Advising
Administrative Secretary
Mrs. Rebecca Malott
478-5133
3307B Newton Building
rhollowa@GeorgiaSouthern.edu
BS, Psychology
Georgia Southern University
Office Support
Faculty Degree Specialty
Dr. Karin Fry
Department Chair
Professor
478-7577
3307C Newton Building

kfry@GeorgiaSouthern.edu
PhD, Philosophy
University of Memphis
 19th and 20th Century Continental Philosophy; Social and Political Philosophy; Philosophy of Art
Dr. Maria Magoula Adamos
Associate Professor
478-5893
3308C Newton Building
madamos@GeorgiaSouthern.edu
PhD, Philosophy
University of California –
Santa Barbara
Philosophy of Emotions; Philosophy of Mind; Ancient Philosophy (Aristotle)
Dr. Dustin Anderson
Director of Graduate Studies
Associate Professor
478-1354
3302B Newton Building
danderson@georgiasouthern.edu
PhD, English Literature
Florida State University
Modern British Literature; Drama; Irish Literature
Dr. Jeremy Bell
Assistant Professor
478-8537
3308E Newton Building
jbell@GeorgiaSouthern.edu
PhD, Philosophy
DePaul University
 Ancient, Medieval, Ethics, Politics, 19th and 20th Continental Philosophy
Dr. Elizabeth Butterfield
Associate Professor
478-0182
3303B Newton Building
ebutterfield@GeorgiaSouthern.edu
PhD, Philosophy
Emory University
Ethics; 19th- and 20th-Century Continental Philosophy; Existentialism; Philosophy of Religion
Dr. Robert Costomiris
Associate Professor
478-0837
3305C Newton Building
robtcost@GeorgiaSouthern.edu
PhD, English Literature
University of Washington
Chaucer; Medieval English Literature
Dr. Finbarr Curtis
Assistant Professor
478-0222
3301A Newton Building
fcurtis@GeorgiaSouthern.edu
PhD, Religious Studies
University of California –
Santa Barbara
American Religions; Religion and Politics; Critical Theory
Dr. Marc D. Cyr
Associate Professor
478-0235
1122A Newton Building
marcdcyr@GeorgiaSouthern.edu
PhD, English Literature
University of Washington
Modern British Literature; War Literature
Dr. David Dudley
Professor
478-5905
3304C Newton Building
dldudley@GeorgiaSouthern.edu
PhD, English Literature
Louisiana State University
African-American Literature; The Bible as Literature
Dr. William Eaton
Associate Professor
478-5128
3301C Newton Building
weaton@GeorgiaSouthern.edu
PhD, Philosophy
Southern Illinois University –
Carbondale
History and Philosophy of Science; Early Modern Philosophy; Metaphysics
Dr. Olivia Carr Edenfield
Professor
478-0155
2220B Newton Building
carr@georgiasouthern.edu
PhD, English Literature
University of Georgia
American Literature
Dr. Bradley Edwards
Senior Lecturer
478-5350
3306A Newton Building
bradedwards@GeorgiaSouthern.edu
PhD, English Literature
University of Georgia
The American Novel; The American Journey Novel; Multicultural American Literature; Bharati Mukherjee; Ernest Hemingway; Cormac McCarthy; Herman Melville
Dr. Richard Flynn
Professor
478-0150
2218B Newton Building
rflynn@GeorgiaSouthern.edu
PhD, American Literature
George Washington University
Modern and Contemporary Poetry; Children’s and Young Adult Literature
Dr. Julia Griffin
Associate Professor
478-1412
2219B Newton Building
jgriffin@GeorgiaSouthern.edu
PhD, English Literature
Oxford University
Renaissance Literature
Dr. Howard Keeley
Director of The Center for Irish Research and Teaching
Assistant Professor
478-0221
3305A Newton Building
hkeeley@GeorgiaSouthern.edu
PhD, English Literature
Princeton University
Modern Irish Literature
Dr. Gautam Kundu
Professor
478-5896
3305B Newton Building
gkundu@GeorgiaSouthern.edu
PhD, American Literature
Oklahoma State University
Modern American Literature; Postcolonial Theory
Dr. Joe Pellegrino
Associate Professor
478-5853
3308B Newton Building
jpellegrino@GeorgiaSouthern.edu
PhD, English Literature
University of North Carolina –
Chapel Hill
Irish Literature; Postcolonial Literature; World Literature; Critical Theory
Dr. Daniel Pioske
Assistant Professor
478-4213
3301D Newton Building
dpioske@GeorgiaSouthern.edu
PhD, Biblical Studies
Princeton Theological Seminary
Place & Memory in the Ancient Mediterranean; Literary Culture of Ancient Israel and Judah; Biblical Hermeneutics; Archaeology of the Southern Levant
Dr. M. Alyson Prude
Assistant Professor
478-5909
3301E Newton Building
mprude@GeorgiaSouthern.edu
 PhD, Religious Studies
University of California, Santa Barbara
Buddhism, Religion in the Himalayas, Ethnography
Dr. Candy Schille
Associate Professor
478-0146
1124A Newton Building
schille@GeorgiaSouthern.edu
PhD, English Literature
University of Washington
Restoration & Eighteenth Century British Literature; Gender Studies
Dr. Jason Slone
Associate Dean of CLASS
Professor
478-2527
3014 Foy
dslone@GeorgiaSouthern.edu
PhD, Comparative Religion
Western Michigan University
Comparative Religion; Theory and Method; Cognitive Science; Learning Science
Dr. Douglass H. Thomson
Professor
478-5779
1122C Newton Building
dhthom@GeorgiaSouthern.edu
PhD, English Literature
University of Rochester
British Romanticism; History of Literary Criticism
Dr. Caren Town
Professor
478-5803
3304D Newton Building
cartow@GeorgiaSouthern.edu
PhD, American Literature
University of Washington
19th- and 20th-Century American Literature; Young Adult Fiction; Critical Theory
Dr. Mary A. Villeponteaux
Professor
478-8569
3302A Newton Building
mvilleponteaux@GeorgiaSouthern.edu
PhD, English Literature
Louisiana State University
English Renaissance Literature; Shakespeare
Dr. Tomasz Warchol
Associate Professor
478-5823
2223A Newton Building
tomwar@GeorgiaSouthern.edu
PhD, American Literature
University of Massachusetts
International Cinema; American and World Literature
Dr. Elizabeth Watkins
Limited Term Assistant Professor
478-1132
1132 Forest Drive Building
ewatkins@GeorgiaSouthern.edu
PhD, Medieval Studies
University of Toronto, Canada
 Medieval British Literature (English and French); Romance; Translation Studies
Dr. Timothy Whelan
Professor
478-0871
3301B Newton Building
timwhel@GeorgiaSouthern.edu
PhD, Early American Literature
University of Maryland
Early American Literature; American Religious Studies

 

Last updated: 3/8/2017

Department of Literature and Philosophy • P.O. Box 8023 Statesboro, GA 30460 • (912) 478-5471
Room 3307 • Newton Building • 622 COBA Drive • Statesboro, GA 30460